Enter your email address to
subscribe to our newsletter

John E. Nance Writer-in-Residence

Calling for submissions for the 2017 John E. Nance Writer-in-Residence!

Applications are now being accepted for the 2017 John E. Nance Adult Writer-in-Residence Program at Thurber House.

The four-week residency at the historic home of author, humorist and New Yorker cartoonist James Thurber will be held in the late winter/early spring of 2017 and offers a $5,000 stipend. Candidates' work may be fiction, or creative non-fiction, including memoir. The submissions deadline is October 31, 2016.

The John E. Nance Writer-in-Residence at Thurber House was begun in 2012 by Sally Crane, in honor of her late husband, John E. Nance, a critically acclaimed photojournalist. As Associated Press Bureau Chief in the Philippines, Nance wrote The Gentle Tasaday about a primitive tribe in the Philippines as well as Lobo of the Tasaday, a Horn Book Award Honor Book. Nance was a Thurber House writer-in-residence twice, in 1995 and 1998.

The Nance Adult Writer-in-Residence program, a partnership between Thurber House and The Ohio State University, was designed to provide a writer with the gift of time to develop a work in progress. The winner will stay in a  two-bedroom apartment on the third floor of Thurber House and must be available for at least three community outreach opportunities, such as readings and teaching writing classes offered by Thurber House or OSU.

Click here for submission guidelines and the application (PDF)

Past John E. Nance Writer-in-Residence winners:
Sara Pritchard
Sharon Short
Katrina Kittle
Liza Monroy

Thurber House Third Floor Apartment